Decisions decisions decisions…..

Things have definitely took a turn for the better, I have finished my dissertation, chose to cut my hours in work, and really feel less stressed about life 🙂

My daughter is healthy, she is teaching herself potty training! She just out of nowhere told us she needed a weewee and we took her the toilet and since then, things have been progressing.

Now the hard part:

I have been speaking to someone who found a post of mine about wanting to do a boat project. He knows of a 26 foot MacWester that is about to be scuttled and I have been granted permission to take possession of her.

Heres the problem, she has no engine and would have to be transported here (about 300 miles) which I have the money here to do, she needs an engine and fitted which I have the money here to do, and she needs a home. My girlfriend thinks that we would be stretching things if we took her to a Marina for a mooring. I agree that times would be tight for a few months, but as I am about to Graduate, surely a graduate position will increase my income and allow for something like this?

I really dont know what to do, she needs a new engine and a good paint, and then she will be shipshape, I don’t have a garden to store her (well, I do but if the locals see a boat in our garden the house would be robbed followed by the boat!) and if I chose the mooring, then we will have to cut back on luxuries until I get a new job.

The other option is to continue saving until we are in a much better position to buy something a little newer.
I open the question to my readers, what would you do?

This is her:
MacWester 26

This entry was posted in Just Looking, Pictures, Sailing, Saving up, The Family, The Future. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Decisions decisions decisions…..

  1. Ann Somerset Miles says:

    Thanks for your comment on the Dobies gardening blog – and I hope you manage your boat one day. Ann.

  2. chantillyb says:

    Hi There,

    Go for the MacWester, unless when you look her over you find something major then you will have a very sound boat with plenty of potential to turn into the boat of your dreams. If money is tight it is probably more fun to spend the minimum necessary to get afloat safely and improve with time rather than sitting at home watching a savings account grow slowly. Engine, try a second hand outboard until you can buy an inboard.

    I bought my MAcWester Rowan 22′ for relatively little and it was fully equipped but neglected. Within a month I had it in the water haven’t looked back.

    good luck

    Chantillyb

Leave a comment